WIN $100 GIFT VOUCHERS: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Wolves of Winter

Dan Jones

Double Rewards
$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Head of Zeus
01 December 2023
Series: Essex Dogs
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

For the Dogs, the war has only just begun.

Caught up in the siege of Calais, in the midst of a brutal eleven-month blockade of a small port on the French coast, they are no longer blindly walking into the unknown. But the men still have more questions than answers about what faces them – and why.

What are they really fighting for? And why does the king care so much about taking such a small French town? The Dogs aren’t paid to ask questions but in their work, they have the means to make people talk.

Soon, their journey will reveal who really wants this war to last for a hundred years. And as the battle rages, they hear the first, faint, chesty rattle of a natural disaster that is sweeping towards the Dogs and their world . . .

Spanning the siege city built outside Calais’ walls, to the pirate ships patrolling the harbour, and into the dark corners of oligarchs’ houses, where the deals that shape – and end – lives are made, this captivating and brutal story brings the 1300s effortlessly to life. About money, merchants and the mediaeval ‘deep state’, this is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Praise for Essex Dogs: 'Oddly joyous – rolling action, fast-paced, a book that draws you in page by page. The way Dan Jones writes enemies reminds me of Cornwell at his best, turning up tension click by click.' CONN IGGULDEN 'A testosterone fuelled, blood soaked rampage across the Middle Ages, this is the Hundred Years' War as directed by Oliver Stone with a historian's eye for detail' ELODIE HARPER 'A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell.' JANE JOHNSON

'Battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched.' DAILY MAIL 'With a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve.' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE

By:  
Imprint:   Head of Zeus
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 229mm,  Width: 148mm, 
ISBN:   9781838937959
ISBN 10:   1838937951
Series:   Essex Dogs
Pages:   416
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Dan Jones is the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of ten non-fiction books, including The Templars, The Colour of Time and Powers and Thrones. He is a renowned writer, broadcaster and journalist. He has presented dozens of TV shows, including the Netflix series Secrets of Great British Castles, and writes and hosts the podcast This is History. His debut novel, Essex Dogs, is the first in a trilogy following the fortunes of ordinary soldiers in the early years of the Hundred Years’ War. He lives near London with his family.

Reviews for Wolves of Winter

Dan Jones brings us his Essex Dogs in a new campaign – the siege of Calais in 1347 – where their grim courage and innate violence are thrown against the high walls and deep moats of Calais. A convincing picture of hard men in a hard time, Dan Jones’ fiction rings with the authority of his scholarly history. * Philippa Gregory * Absolutely fabulous. A raucous, swaggering charge through the medieval underworld. I had such a good time reading it that I never wanted it to stop. * Antonia Fraser * 'Superb historical fiction as fresh, vivid and vital as this morning's headlines... proves once again that nothing really changes, be it a soldier's life – or great storytelling.' * Lee Child * At its best, the book recalls Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall novels with its masterly control, period details, and understated humor… Jones’ entertaining second installment in a trilogy more than whets the appetite for the conclusion. * Kirkus Starred Review * Nobody but Dan Jones could write this story. I could not put it down. It captures the grime, blood, sweat and friendship of medieval war brilliantly. * Gareth Russell * An enthralling, captivating, and thrilling chronicle of 14th Century warfare by a gifted medieval historian who brilliantly transports the reader to the experience of those who had boots on the ground in the Hundred Years War. Truly wonderful and truly fascinating! -- General David Petraeus Dan Jones tackles The Hundred Years' War and puts faces and personalities, drug habits and fighting in an urgent light. I feel like I’m there . . . Simply stunning. -- DUFF McKAGAN, New York Times No1 bestselling author of It’s So Easy, and founder member of Guns N' Roses The siege of Calais and pirate ships spell new dangers for the Essex Dogs as the Hundred Years’ War rages on in the gripping trilogy from the popular historian and broadcaster * Waterstones, Best Books for October * Falstaff meets Saving Private Ryan in this rollicking story of men at war in Europe in the turbulent 1300s. The rich mix of accurate history, fascinating characters, and fine storytelling will captivate readers. Wonderful historical fiction at the level of Bernard Cornwell or Patrick O'Brian! * Admiral James Stavridis, former Supreme Allied Commander at NATO and bestselling author of 2054: A Novel * As brilliant, brutal and bloody as the first... a grim and grisly tale vividly told, as Jones deftly unravels the cynical reasons for the continuation of the endless conflict * Daily Mail * Lively, usually violent action and punchy dialogue are underpinned by the author’s knowledge of the period * The Sunday Times *


See Also